top of page

The Enhancement Theme has addressed the topic of “Access, outcomes and opportunities for Māori students and for Pasifika students”. Each university developed its own objectives and plan for the enhancement theme. Enhancement Theme activities have been overseen by an Enhancement Theme Steering Group.

This group reports to the New Zealand Vice-Chancellors Committee. 


Members of the Steering Group are:

  • Professor Robyn Longhurst, University of Waikato, Chair of the Enhancement Theme Steering Group

  • Professor John Morrow, The University of Auckland

  • Walter Fraser, Auckland University of Technology

  • Dr Sarah-Jane Tiakiwai, University of Waikato

  • Professor Giselle Byrnes, Massey University

  • Associate Professor Meegan Hall, Victoria University of Wellington

  • Professor Catherine Moran, University of Canterbury

  • Dr Lorraine Petelo, Lincoln University

  • Margaret Morgan, University of Otago

  • Dr Darryn Russell, Chair, Te Kāhui Amokura

  • Tuari Potiki, Te Kāhui Amokura

  • Associate Professor Hon. Luamanuvao Dame Winnie Laban, Pasifika member

  • Dr Tasilete Teevale, Pasifika member

  • Mamaeroa Merito, Tumuaki, Te Mana Ākonga

  • Ali Leota, Pasifika student member

Sheelagh Matear, AQA Executive Director, and Fiona Johnson-Bell, Te Pouhārō, Portfolio Manager – Education System & Māori, UNZ, provide additional support to the group.

ET Steering Group.jpg

Terms of Reference

The overarching purpose of the Enhancement Theme Steering Group is to oversee and guide the enhancement theme activities.


The Enhancement Theme Steering Group will establish objectives, maintain progress, receive reports on and comment on the work of the enhancement theme and make recommendations based on this work


bottom of page